Food on The Brain.

Being healthy is hard to do, especially when we are talking about food. Not only do I prefer chicken fried steak and baked potatoes over anything slightly healthy sounding, but I have to avoid those easy meals. The ones that I can just drive up to and grab, or call and have delivered to my house. But it’s time to start eating right, and I got my big butt into researching gear.

Having a newborn that I exclusively breastfeed definitely changes things. I am supposed to be getting an extra 500 calories a day to provide nutrition for my little monster, and I haven’t been doing it right since she’s been born. In fact, I have been skipping meals. It’s not the skinny Becca inside wanting to avoid eating so she can come out and shine though. It’s just that I’ve forgotten.

With a toddler running around, and a newborn constantly crying, pooping or in need of a good cuddle, I just keep forgetting to feed myself. It’s the same with peeing. I have almost pissed my pants probably a dozen times, just because I will be doing a million things at once and then I am like “Oh shit! Empty your bladder. Don’t pee yourself like you did after you had Layla.” And I totally did. The truth sucks. As does washing your own piss pants when your 18 years old.

But enough ranting about that. I needed to figure out how to feed myself properly to better my own health as well as Caroline’s. If I don’t eat enough or drink enough water, my milk supply can diminish for my youngster, and I do not want to pay for formula because I was a dumbass and just stopped eating.

So here is what I found:

Proper Nutrition While Breastfeeding

I have been searching the internet for ideas on what I should be eating. I found this wonderful website that does all the work for me:

https://www.supertracker.usda.gov/CreateProfile.aspx

Because who knows what is better for me to eat than the government? But seriously, it’s an awesome little tool to help me figure out what I should eat to get a better handle on my health while breastfeeding, and even to move towards a better weight (because even the site told me I was too fat for my height. Awesome).

Entering my current weight of 167 and my goal of 140, it told me I should be eating 2200 calories a day. My current five goals are my grains, weight, calcium intake, as well as saturated fats. With grains, I should be getting 7 ounces a day, calcium 1000 mg and saturated fats should be a maximum of 24 grams. I have no idea yet what I actually eat in any of those areas, but I am interested in finding out.

Food Groups

Here is a detailed list of what a breastfeeding mother should be taking in from each food group. Very good to know to start eating right for you and your baby.

Grains

7 ounces a day. So what does that actually mean, because I have no way of measuring ounces in my house. Here are some ways to get that goal each day:

  • 1 slice of bread
  • ½ cup cooked pasta, rice, or cereal.
  • 1 ounce uncooked pasta or rice 1 tortilla
  • 1 pancake
  • 1 ounce ready-to-eat cereal (about 1 cup cereal flakes)

That is 7 ounces. Not so hard, right?

Some other helpful tips are to eat at least half of all grains as whole grains, substitute whole-grain choices for refined grains in breakfast cereals, breads, crackers, rice, and pasta and check product labels – is a grain with “whole” before its name listed first on the ingredients list?

Veggies

3 cups per day is an ideal goal. Fresh, frozen and canned all count, so it can’t be too hard. I also found a great tip for what types of veggies you should be eating each week:

  • Dark Green – 2 cups per week
  • Red & Orange – 6 cups per week
  • Beans & Peas – 2 cups per week
  • Starchy – 6 cups per week
  • Other – 5 cups per week

Fruits

2 cups per day. Nothing specific really matters, just get that 2 cups in! I can do that!

Dairy

This is my hardest area. I hate yogurt, cheese, really anything dairy wise unless it’s milk in my cereal. 3 cups per day is the goal. It is recommended to drink fat-free or 1%, but I don’t think I can stray from my 2%, so I’ll just stick to 3 cups of 2% a day. Not as much as I thought I needed, thank the Lord.

Protein

This is an area I probably need to cut back from. My husband is the son of a cattle rancher, and we currently have 1/4 of a beef in our deep freeze, as well as enough elk to feed a family of ten. 6 oz per day is the recommended amount.

You can get this through not only meats, but also peanut butter, really any nut or seed, eggs and cooked beans. So I need to start cutting back.

Oils

6 Tablespoons per day. Apparently oils are very concentrated calories, so you should be using oils in small amounts. It is recommended to replace butters and stick margarines with soft zero fat margarines or oils (olive, sunflower, canola, peanut or soybean are some examples)

Overall

So it’s really not as hard as I was imagining. Well, typing it is really easy. Actually going forth and living by this plan is the real test.

Also, here are my before pictures, and I am not too proud of it. Not that I am fat. I guess I am just out of shape. Procreating gave me giant boobs compared to my measly A cups I once had, and I need the body to back it up :)

019

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Not too pleased about that stretch mark.

2 responses to “Food on The Brain.

  1. I have a tramp stamp stretch mark. And I have two on each side like the one in your picture. Mederma Stretch Mark Therapy actually does work. My mom bought it for me when I was pregnant, and I haven’t been using it like I should and I still see awesome results (they’re not completely gone, but they’re noticeably lighter).

Discuss this.

