Time to Get Back in Shape.

Oh I miss the days of high school. You know, the days when you could shovel your face full of delicious treats and alcohol, and for some reason you still kept that nice tone body. I admittedly was not the best high school student. Well, I’ll rephrase that. I did good academically. But outside of that, I smoked. And drank. And ate my way through my family’s pantry. I am pretty sure I owe the Hopkins a large sum of Top Ramen and toast.

But two kids, the loss of high school sports and the lack of ambition have really kicked my butt. I know it’s only been 3 weeks since I popped out the second little monster, but I also know she didn’t come out weighing 40 pounds, so there is a few extra I gained that was just due to the damn fudge and cookies I constantly ate.

So, it’s time to get in shape. I need to take a step back and look at what I eat, how I stay active, and fix it all. So the health tab goes into my blog, and hopefully I stick with it.

So let’s do some starting weight. As much as I dread sharing with the world that I am a cow.

In high school, I was a consistent 135. No matter how many Keystone Lights dranken, I stayed strong there. I gained 25 pounds with my first child, and after her, I stayed at 145. Still not too bad. I am 5’7″ and have the thighs of a Russian bodybuilder, but I’ll take what the good Lord gave me.

Then, this pregnancy came. By the end of it, I was pushing 192. How upsetting is that?? It brought me to tears, while shoveling in hand full after hand full of that damned toffee Alex’s grandma made for the holidays. Why did I decide to have a baby in December is beyond me.

After her birth, as of today, I weigh in at 167. Not what I had in mind, considering with my firstborn I was down to 145 within two weeks. And yes, I do understand with age and more childbirthing comes a challenge in weight loss. But, come on, I am 20. 21 in four days. Don’t you think the big Guy upstairs could cut me some slack and give me my old metabolism back, just for a few months? No. No, he could not.

My goal weight is 140, and I want to meet that goal by June 1st. That gives me four months to lose 27 pounds. I also am measuring my waist and thighs. My waist is 35″ and my thigh measured in at 27″. My goal for my waist is probably around 10 inches less, and I have no idea what a normal thigh would measure in at for myself, so we’ll see what we get.

I may get the courage to post a before and after picture, but at this point in my life, I am the before. And I don’t want to do that to my poor ego. I’ll just close my eyes, eat the last bit of blackberry cobbler in my fridge and tell myself tomorrow is the beginning of a not chunky Becca.

We’ll see how long I savor my cobbler.

One response to “Time to Get Back in Shape.

  1. Good luck! I was just like you; really small in high school, and only gained a little with Joey (I only gained about 25 pounds) (but I looked HUGE) and lost it a little slower than you did. My husband and I were going to start a workout journey last year in February….and then I found out I was pregnant haha…I’m really nervous about not losing the weight so quickly the second time around, so I’m planning on walking every day with Joey :) Let’s hope it works.

Discuss this.

