Our Newest Additions.

So, we have two wonderful additions to our little Eller family. One is a 9 pound bottomless pit and the other is Alex’s personal shadow. Meet Caroline

 

 

 

 

 

And Harley

 

 

 

 

Two very cute, loud little creatures. Caroline finally decided to join our family the day before my due date, on December 29th at 2:43 in the morning. Not only were we excited to be parents of two beautiful girls, but I was so glad to not be a giant whale of a person any more. And then the epidural wore off, and I realized how much I hate procreation. But now we are finally settled in, and Layla is loving her little sister.

Harley is a 5 year old black lab/retriever/rottweiler that we adopted from the Humane Society. Although, our timing was terrible. I am not sure whether it was the pregnancy hormones, or the fact that I wanted to cuddle something REALLY badly and Caroline wasn’t coming fast enough, but we decided to head down to the HS on December 28th.

That’s right. We got a dog the day before we got a new baby. We’re officially idiots. Idiots with a loving, cute dog that is. The funny thing was that while I was signing the paperwork to take home Harley, the contractions kicked in. By the time we got home, we were already calling up sitters to watch our Monster and our new dog.

Luckily, this dog is great with Layla, and it really helped her transition to having a new sister, because she has a new cuddly furry best friend to keep her entertained. Although, every time you turn around…BAM. There is Harley. Staring at you, like a damn shadow. That is something I’ve never really had a dog do, and I imagine it’s because she is a shelter dog and fears abandonment, but between her and my two year old shadow, I might go insane.

So now we are a family of five. I have learned that having two kids is SO different than having one. I find myself becoming increasingly talented at multitasking, totally acceptable with sweatpants as my daily wear, and spit up constantly on my shirt. Maybe one day I can actually do my hair…maybe. But for now our house is constantly messy and my life could not be happier. Now if I could get back to my sewing machine without a two year old unwinding my thread or a three week old pooping every twenty seconds my life would be perfect.

Three years ago, I would not have EVER imagined my life would be what it is today. Two kids, a dog, a husband and a obsession with sewing. But life has a way of happening when your not looking, and I am so glad to have all of these people in my life, and we’ll see how we survive :)

Discuss this.

