Banana Bread Before the Crack of Dawn.

Once again, I am up at four in the morning, with the most happy go lucky morning child I have ever experienced. Every single day, I hear the pitter patter of chunky little toes make her way from the bedroom to the kitchen. Her tiny little fingers rummage around the fridge for a few minutes as I roll my pregnant ass over and see the clock dimly lit, telling me “It’s too early”. Then said lil toes makes her way into my bedroom, runs up to my bedside, with chocolate syrup in hand. If it wasn’t for the big cheesy grin on her face, I might have locked in her in a closet by now.

It’s my fault for showing her the magic of chocolate milk.

I find it hard to get up and make a breakfast for her every single day. Some days I have ambition and I’ll throw together pancakes and eggs. Other days I throw her a banana and lay my whale of a body on the couch until my internal clock figures out I am far from going back to bed.

This morning, I made banana bread.

I remember my mother making banana bread since I was a wee devil. It was her signature recipe, and it still is today. Something about the warm gooeyness sounds all too great in this chilly fall weather. So, I’ll pour myself another cup of coffee, and share our recipe :) And then, I will sit on my ass, take my iron tablet and my prenatal, and shove my face full of bread until my fetus child is content!

Nummy Nana Bread

  • 1/2 cup Butter, softened
  • 3/4 cup Brown Sugar, packed
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 2 cups flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon nutmeg
  • 4 bananas

I failed to take pictures aside from the finished result, but you really don’t need a step by step. It’s too early.

Preheat oven to 350. Cream butter and brown sugar together. Add eggs one at a time, mixing well with each addition. Add vanilla and mix yet again.

Peel your four bananas, and place in a separate bowl for mashing. The blacker the peel, the yummier the bread. Although, if there is slime seeping out the sides, I would definitely stop using them. Slime and I don’t mix.
Set mashed bananas aside for now.

Add to wet mixture the flour, baking soda, cinnamon, salt and nutmeg. Make sure to mix well, until no clumps of flour are in your shit. Add in the bananas that you mashed, and fold in. You may choose to add in pecans, or possibly some walnuts, but if you do you are gross, so I have no idea what amount you would add. Enough to make me not like you I suppose.

Dump into a pan, I think it’s a 5×10? I have no idea though, I may just be totally making up a measurement. The small rectangular one. It’s seriously too early to concern myself with pan size.

Bake in your preheated oven for 55-60 minutes, or until it passes the toothpick test. Let cool for ten minutes in pan, then get that shit out and cool it on a wire rack. Or if your me just throw it on the counter, because let’s face it, you don’t own a wire rack. The best way to get it out of the pan is right after you take it out of the oven, take a butter knife to the edge of the entire loaf, to loosen it off of the edge.

Cut it up, serve with coffee, or milk, or whatever your lil heart desires and enjoy!

I don’t normally bake at four in the morning, but this seriously took like 10 minutes to throw together, and an hour of being lazy (or in all honesty, at least 5 times of dancing to Psy’s Gangnam Style.)

Discuss this.

