Delicious. Warm. Pancakes.

Oh man. Those cold mornings are making my coffee taste that much better as we head into the Fall season. It doesn’t help that my monster likes to wake up at four every damn day. Time to turn on the heater here in Idaho!

My favorite breakfast treat on cold mornings like these are pancakes. And what could be better than homemade pancakes? Um, nothing. Unless those pancakes are made by someone else. Please feel free to cater to my morning requests someone!

I have always been a fan of homemade pancakes. And hot damn did I find a good pancake recipe that doesn’t require having buttermilk on hand, or making it either.

So I thought I would share it with you!

Pancakes

1 1/2 cups flour
3 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
1 teaspoon salt
1 tablespoon sugar
1 1/4 cup milk
1 egg

Ready? Mix the dry ingredients, make a well to pour the milk and crack that egg into, and mix until clumps are gone.

ERMAHGERD. It’s that simple.

She decided sniffing them like a dog would be necessary before each bite.

It makes about ten average sized pancakes, and helps warm your spirits as the weather gets nipply cold. I like to match a few batches of dry mixes, that way I don’t have to take that much time to get these bad boys ready every morning. It comes in handy when you have a pancake addict like I happen to have in my household.

Here is a problem I kept running into though. It makes ten pancakes, but only Layla and I are at home now, and even when my husband is home he doesn’t eat them. So what the f*** am I supposed to do with those 8 other pancakes?

Freeze them.

Genius way to have pancakes ready in case your little one demands them like mine does. Through them in a freezer bag, and on those morning you want one real quick, just pop it in your toaster on low. It warms it up to fluffy approval and avoids browning them anymore.

Discuss this.

