Classic Snickerdoodles to Die for..

I am not sure what it is about Fall, but every time it rolls around I am diving deep into the world of baking. The idea of fresh cookies, pies and cakes just makes me drool at the mouth. I love the smell of cinnamon, the warm taste of fresh baked goodies, and the smile on my daughter’s face everytime we make something new.

So today, I baked snickerdoodles. Just a classic, warm, delicious snickerdoodle.

I would do very illegal things to have these freshly made in my house every morning when I wake up, to enjoy with a giant cup of coffee. Mmmmmm.

So, here is our recipe, from my baking Goddess mother-in-law.

Snickerdoodles

1 cup butter, softened
2 cups granulated sugar
2 eggs
1/4 cup milk
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
3 3/4 cup all-purpose flour
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 cream of tartar

Sounds good already!

So, to start off, mix all of your dry ingredients together. That’s the flour, baking soda, and cream of tartar. Set this aside to be mixed in for later. Now, I used an electric mixer, because I have weak little gangly arms, and it just makes baking so much easier. You’ll want to first beat the butter for about a minute or so, then slowly add in the sugar, and beat this combination until fluffy. Add in the 2 eggs, milk and vanilla and mix well.

If you’re like us, half your dough is already gone.

Add in the dry ingredients. I also dump all this shit in at once, but it doesn’t hurt to slowly add it in while mixing. I just take the lazy approach to life I suppose.

Rolling the dough in sugar.

Now, take this mixture and form dough balls. I always oversize it to like the size of a golf ball, because seriously who likes to eat tiny cookies? Not me. But it says to make them about 3/4 in size. Oh well. Do however your baking heart feels. Roll your balls (tee-hee) into a cinnamon sugar mixture. If you’re not sure how to make a cinnamon sugar mixture, I am sorry. It’s seriously easy, and you need to domesticate yourself a little more. But if you must know, a good mixture is about 3 tablespoons of sugar to 1 teaspoon of cinnamon. Simple, right? Start calling yourself Betty fuckin Crocker cause you’re on a roll.

Your slightly flattened balls of yum!

So now, you just place them on a greased cookie sheet, about an inch or two apart and flatten each cookie slightly with a glass for shape. Bake these bitches up at 375 degrees for around 8 minutes (it took my ghetto oven 10) or until golden brown.

It says it is supposed to make 66 cookies, but if you are like my daughter and myself, you probably end up with half of that. Between my oversized balls (tee-hee, yet again) and our love of cookie dough, we never end up with what the recipe approximates.

Take those bad boys out, let them cool for a minute or two, and then transfer them to a cooling rack or a table with lots of space.

She did not stop sneaking dough through this whole process!

It’s so easy, and so delicious. I will be for sure enjoy these little devils while I watch the BSU game tonight!

One response to “Classic Snickerdoodles to Die for..

Discuss this.

